I Finally Get To Be What I’ve Always Dressed Like … a Teacher.

by Beauty.Full.

 

When my sister and I were growing up, we played “Teacher” a lot. I, being the overbearing older sibling, naturally assumed the role of teacher. The games usually didn’t last very long because Tabitha complained that I made my school harder than regular school.

I just wanted her to learn, right?

But now that I am a teacher, most of the time I feel like I’m still pretending, still playing. I’m sure much of this has to do with the fact that I’m teaching English to young Korean students who only understand 10-60% of what I’m saying, depending on their level.

But there are these gems-of-a-moment, when the world stops and I think, I am so happy to be doing what I’m doing. Here are a few:

-A few days ago one of my second graders, Jane, ran up to me and said “Teacher! Teacher! Secret!” And she pulled me down to her level, whispering, “I love you!” before running off. Of course it sounded like “I lobe you,” with her accent, but incredibly heart-melting, nonetheless.

-In my more advanced 4th grade class, one of my sweetest and smartest students asked me, “Teacher, do you feel pretty everyday?” To which I answered, honestly, “Some days I feel pretty, some days I don’t feel pretty.” To which she answered, adoringly, “But teacher, you are pretty everyday.” Swoon.

-Simple hand holding while walking down the stairs. It gets me every time.

