The Importance of Being a Goal Setter.

by Beauty.Full.

When I first moved to Seoul, I spent a lot of time staring out my window, watching mindless tv shows, and wishing I was back home. All of these pastimes added up to an unproductive evening in which I would crawl into bed completely unsatisfied and unable to fall asleep.

So I started writing a goal list.

My October goal list was fairly simple: read a minimum of four books, write letters to friends back home, hang out with a few specific people, etc. I hung the goal list above my desk, and looked at it every day. When I was feeling homesick or unsatified or bored, I would look at that list and think about what I could do to help complete one of the things listed. It worked. I moved out of my slump.

Since then, I’ve continued writing a monthly goal list and posted it in the same place, above my desk. At the end of each month, I take it down, cross off what I accomplished and paste the list in my journal. This helps me put away the events of the month, the successes and the disappointments. I usually don’t accomplish everything on the list and those get bumped to the next one. Sometimes I realize that it was a lofty goal, or change my mind about the importance of it.

Through goal writing, I’ve also realized the importance of spontaneity and flexibity. Sometimes I can’t complete everything on my list because something new and exciting presents itself. That is the nature of life, and I’m so glad that each day continues to hold new possibility.

Here, in the name of full disclosure, is my December list. Posting it where others can see is just another way for me to hold myself accountable and work towards those list items that help me fall into bed a peaceful and accomplished girl.

December: 

1. Get a bank account (done!)

2. Transfer money back home. (done!)

3. Mail all Christmas packages by the 9th. (done!)

4. Finish all Christmas online shopping by the 10th.

5. Visit my friend Claire.

6. Go ice skating.

7. Write letters to friends and family, at least 3 a week.

8. Wash my sheets. (This really needs to happen soon!)

9. Read 3 books, and at least one classic.

And 10, which is a little more personal. One of the reasons I wanted to move away was that I wanted to try to spend some time writing. From day to day I have 3-5 first sentences rolling around in my head, but I never sit down and flush them out. I spend most of my time thinking about writing instead of actually doing it. This month I pledge to spend one night a week writing. 

Just making a goal list always lightens my steps a bit. Happy December and happy goal writing!

